Environment

We aim to minimize the impacts of our business on the natural environment. As part of doing so, we implement the internationally recognized environmental management system ISO 14001 and are working towards full certification across our business. In Austria we first achieved ISO 14001 in 2004 and have maintained it ever since.

Our environmental efforts are focused on the three areas where we have the greatest impact and can therefore make the most significant contribution. These are:

We set performance targets for each of these three areas and report our progress as part of a larger group in our annual Group CSR report.

Our bottling plants are also regularly audited against the environmental standards of The Coca-Cola Company.

As well as reducing our own impacts, we work with others to address broader sustainability issues. We work with government agencies, NGOs and others to support environmental conservation and education. In particular, we focus on protecting local watersheds and promoting recycling.

Since 2006, Coca-Cola HBC has been organizing the Danube Challenge in cooperation with the Ministry of Life. At this event, school classes from all parts of Austria explore the eco-system of water.

Since 2007, Coca-Cola HBC has been running a bottle-to-bottle recycling facility in cooperation with four other Austrian beverage manufacturers. PET to PET Recycling Österreich GmbH is a pioneering key project in the Austrian beverage industry. At this recycling facility, located in Müllendorf, Burgenland, which was built in compliance with the latest technical standards, used PET bottles are processed so the material can be used for the production of new ones. 

The employees of Coca-Cola Austria also show commitment and support the conservation of important habitats such as the Danube within the framework of the "Move Week". 

Back to top

Related links

Umwelt

Wir sind bestrebt, den Einfluss unseres Unternehmens auf die Natur so gering wie möglich zu halten. Als Teil dieses Bestrebens setzen wir das international anerkannte Umweltmanagementsystem ISO 14001 um und arbeiten an einer vollen Zertifizierung des gesamten Unternehmens. In Österreich wurden wir erstmals im Jahr 2004 nach ISO 14001 zertifiziert und haben dies seither beibehalten.

Unsere Umweltmaßnahmen konzentrieren sich auf drei Bereiche, in denen wir die größte Wirkung erzielen und somit den bedeutendsten Beitrag leisten können. Dazu gehören:

Wir setzen für jeden dieser Bereiche Leistungsziele und berichten über den Fortschritt in unserer Unternehmensgruppe im jährlichen Group CSR Report.

Unsere Abfüllbetriebe werden außerdem regelmäßig auf die Umweltstandards der The Coca‑Cola Company geprüft.

Wir reduzieren nicht nur unsere eigenen Umwelteinwirkungen, wir kooperieren auch mit anderen, um auf weiter gefasste Nachhaltigkeitsfragen einzugehen. Wir arbeiten mit Regierungseinrichtungen, NGOs und anderen Organisationen zusammen, um Umweltschutz zu fördern und Aufklärungsarbeit zu leisten. Insbesondere konzentrieren wir uns darauf, lokale Wasserreservoirs zu schützen und Recycling zu fördern.

Seit 2006 veranstaltet Coca-Cola HBC Österreich gemeinsam mit dem Lebensministerium die Danube Challenge, bei der Schulklassen aus ganz Österreich das Ökosystem Wasser erforschen.

Seit 2007 betreibt Coca-Cola HBC Österreich eine PET-to-PET-Recycling-Anlage in Zusammenarbeit mit vier weiteren österreichischen Getränkeherstellern. PET to PET Recycling Österreich GmbH ist ein bahnbrechendes Pionierprojekt der österreichischen Getränkeindustrie. Die im burgenländischen Müllendorf angesiedelte Recycling-Anlage entspricht den neuesten technischen Standards und verarbeitet PET-Flaschen wieder zu Ausgangsmaterial, mit dem neue PET-Flaschen hergestellt werden.

Auch die Mitarbeiter von Coca-Cola Österreich zeigen Engagement und setzen sich im Rahmen der „Move Week“ zum Thema Umweltschutz, für die Erhaltung wichtiger Lebensräume wie die Donau ein.

Back to top

Related links