Energy and climate protection

Climate change is the greatest and most urgent environmental challenge facing our planet. Swift and decisive action is needed to set our society onto a low-carbon growth path. With its capacity for innovation and investment, business has a critical role to play in this massive transformation.

We aim to take a leadership position, adapting our business to the demands and opportunities of a low-carbon economy. As a result, we are accelerating our efforts in parts of our business that use the most energy: our bottling plants, fleet and cold drink equipment.

Coca-Cola HBC has committed to reduce water use intensity by 30% by 2020 – compared to 2010 – and to reduce carbon emissions intensity by 50% over the same period.

We are developing specific measures, particularly for the energy-intensive areas of our company – the bottling plants, the fleet of vehicles and our cooling devices: It is one of our most important environmental objectives to further reduce our energy consumption. Our main energy consumers are: bottling and packaging plants, hot water production (cleaning, bottle washing machine), blowing machines for PET bottle production, heating, cooling as well as lighting: A new bottle washing machine has been in operation since 2014. Thanks to the use of this machine, fresh water consumption per bottle has been reduced by 40% – energy consumption has even been reduced by 50%.

For the production of hot water we mainly use natural gas. An energy management system regulates the withdrawal of heat from the storage system and the heating boilers. We use the waste heat of the blowing machines to heat our warehouses. The use of energy-efficient engines saves up to 70% of energy compared to previous models, i.e. more than 190,000 kWh and almost 40 tons of CO2 equivalents per year.

Today, the Coca-Cola HBC Austria receives its power supply exclusively from hydroelectricity.

Green Logistics
Only recently, Coca-Cola HBC launched a new shuttle system between Vienna and Edelstal.

With this concept we rely on Green Logistics, automated warehouse procedures and more planning flexibility in the long term.

The new shuttle offers mainly three advantages:

  • Reduction of carbon dioxide emissions thanks to the use of Euro 6 vehicles with lower fuel consumption
  • Increased payload of trucks – 26 instead of 24 tons thanks to lightweight construction
  • Improved cooperation and coordination between distribution, warehouse and planning

Safe and Eco-Driving

Changing driver behaviour can also make a major contribution to reducing CO2 emissions. Through our Safe and Eco-Driving programme, we are teaching drivers of our trucks and company cars such techniques as driving at optimum speed and early gear changes. Initial results are encouraging, showing the potential for significant CO2 emissions reduction across our business.

Energy-efficient cold drink equipment

Our consumers expect to find chilled beverages available in restaurants and shops when they are thirsty. As a result, placing coolers and other cold drink equipment on customer premises is an important part of our business strategy. Although we do not operate this equipment, we still have a responsibility to reduce its carbon footprint.

We therefore work with our suppliers to improve the equipment’s energy efficiency. By developing new cooler models as well as energy management devices, we now purchase coolers up to 50 percent more energy-efficient compared to 2004. We also train our employees to ensure that coolers in the marketplace operate as efficiently as possible.

In addition, we are working to eliminate hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs), the greenhouse gases widely used in commercial and domestic refrigeration. We no longer use HFCs in insulation foam and are trialing alternative refrigerant gases. Chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs) have been almost completely phased out from our equipment through a capture and recovery programme in the marketplace. 

Working in partnership

At an international level, Coca-Cola HBC is a founder signatory of the UN Global Compact’s Caring for Climate, the largest global business coalition on climate.

Back to top

Related links

Energie und Klimaschutz

Der Klimawandel ist die dringlichste und größte Umweltbedrohung für unseren Planeten. Rasche und entschlossene Maßnahmen sind jetzt erforderlich, um den Anstieg der CO2 -Emissionen unserer Gesellschaft abzubremsen. Es stehen große Veränderungen an, zu denen die Wirtschaft mit ihrem enormen Innovations- und Investitionspotential entscheidend beizutragen hat.

Unser Unternehmen sieht seine Rolle hier an vorderster Front: Wir stellen uns auf die Anforderungen und neuen Chancen einer emissionsreduzierten Wirtschaftswelt ein. 

Coca-Cola HBC hat sich verpflichtet, die Wassernutzungsintensität im Vergleich zu 2010 bis 2020 um 30 Prozent sowie die Intensität des Kohlendioxidausstoßes im selben Zeitraum um 50 Prozent zu reduzieren.

Besonders für die energieintensivsten Bereiche unseres Unternehmens, die Abfüllanlagen, den Fuhrpark und unsere Kühlgeräte, entwickeln wir gezielte Maßnahmen: Eines unserer wichtigsten Umweltziele ist, unseren Energieverbrauch weiter zu verringern. Hauptverbraucher sind die Abfüll- und Verpackungsanlagen, die Warmwasserherstellung (Reinigung, Flaschenwaschmaschine) die Blasmaschinen zur PET-Flaschen-Herstellung, Heizung, Kühlung sowie die Beleuchtung: Seit 2014 ist eine neue Flaschenwaschmaschine in Betrieb, durch den Einsatz konnte der Frischwasserverbrauch pro Flasche um 40 Prozent reduziert werden, der Energieverbrauch wurde sogar halbiert.

Für die Erzeugung von Heißwasser verwenden wir vorwiegend Erdgas. Ein Energiemanagementsystemregelt die Entnahme von Wärme aus dem Speichersystem und den Heizkesseln. Die Abwärme im Kesselhaus dient auch zur Verdampfung von flüssiger Kohlensäure, was einen elektrisch beheizten Verdampfer einspart. Die Abwärme der Blasmaschinen leiten wir zur Beheizung in unsere Lagerhallen. Der Einsatz von energieeffizienten Motoren spart gegenüber den Vorgängermodellen über 70% Energie ein, d.h. über 190.000 KWh und fast 40 Tonnen CO²-Äquivalente pro Jahr.

Coca-Cola HBC Österreich bezieht heute ausschließlich Strom aus Wasserkraft.

Green Logistics
Coca-Cola HBC hat vor kurzem ein neues Shuttle-System zwischen Wien und Edelstal eingeführt.
Mit diesem Konzept setzen wir nachhaltig auf Green Logistics, automatisierte Abläufe im Lager und erhöhte Flexibilität in der Planung.
Der neue Shuttle bringt vor allem drei Vorteile:

  • CO2-Reduktion aufgrund des Einsatzes von Euro 6-Fahrzeugen mit geringerem Treibstoffverbrauch
  • Erhöhte Nutzlast der LKW von 24 auf 26 Tonnen Ladung dank Leichtbauweise 
  • Bessere Zusammenarbeit und Abstimmung zwischen Distribution, Lager und Planung

Safe and Eco-Driving

Auch eine umweltfreundliche Fahrweise kann erheblich zu einer Verringerung der CO 2 Emissionen beitragen. In unserem eigens entwickelten Programm zu Safe and Eco-Driving lernen die Fahrer unserer Lastwagen und Autos, Techniken wie optimale Geschwindigkeit und zeitiges Gangschalten einzusetzen.

Energieeffiziente Kühlgeräte

Unsere Konsumenten wollen ihren Durst mit kühlen Getränken in Restaurants und Geschäften stillen. Kühlautomaten und andere Kühlgeräte bei unseren Kunden aufzustellen ist daher ein wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Geschäftsstrategie. Wir betreiben diese Geräte zwar nicht selbst, sind aber trotzdem für die Emissionen verantwortlich, die sie verursachen.

Deshalb arbeiten wir eng mit unseren Lieferanten zusammen, um unsere Kühlgeräte energieeffizienter zu machen. Wir entwickeln ständig neue Kühlautomaten und Energiemanagementsysteme und verfügen so bereits über Kühlgeräte, die um 50 % weniger Strom verbrauchen als unsere Modelle von 2004. Unsere Mitarbeiter werden außerdem geschult, sodass sie den bestmöglichen Einsatz unserer Kühlgeräte vor Ort sicherstellen können.

Wir arbeiten auch daran, den Einsatz von teilhalogenierten Fluorkohlenwasserstoffen zu beseitigen, die oft in Kühlgeräten für die gewerbliche und häusliche Verwendung vorkommen: Wir setzen sie nicht mehr bei der Isolierung ein und führen Versuche mit anderen Kühlgasen durch. Fluorchlorkohlenwasserstoffe (FCKWs) haben wir durch ein Recycling-Programm bei unseren Kunden bereits fast vollständig ersetzen können

Partnerarbeit

Coca-Cola HBC gehört zu den Gründungsmitgliedern der internationalen Initiative Caring for Climate des Global Compact , dem weltweit größten Zusammenschluss von Unternehmen zum Klimaschutz.

Back to top

Related links