History

It was in the year 1886, in Atlanta, Georgia, in the south of the USA. The pharmacist John Pemberton was actually looking for an elixir against fatigue, faintness and headache.

John Pemberton  

Mixed with water, the beverage, designed to be a remedy, had a stimulating effect, which made it the most popular refreshment around the world: Coca-Cola.

From then on, its triumphant success has been unstoppable.

Coca-Cola in Austria

In 1929, Coca-Cola found its way to Austria. Heinrich Gahnal from Bludenz signed the first bottling and distribution contract with The Coca-Cola Company. The very same year, the success story of Coca-Cola in Austria started with the production of 24,000 bottles. A decade later, the branch Coca-Cola Ges.m.b.H. was founded in Vienna.

Because of the Second World War, the development of Coca-Cola in Austria was suspended. In 1953, the company Paul König OHG finally started the production of Coca-Cola again in Lambach. At that time, Coca-Cola Austria counted 21 employees, 4 trucks and a car for the distribution manager. In the first year, 2681 cases with 24 bottles each were sold.

Headquarters in Vienna 

  Coca-Cola Truck 1954  

Coca-Cola bottling facility 1956

In 1954, four Coca-Cola franchises were established in Vienna, Salzburg, Innsbruck and Graz. On February 1, 1955, the Gesellschaft für alkoholfreie Getränke (company of non-alcoholic beverages) started operations on the Wienerberg hill, in the 10th district of Vienna.

The Austrian capital city became the headquarters of today's company and in 1956 its own bottling facility was established.

In 1964, Fanta Orange was introduced to the Austrian market, followed by Cappy Orange two years later.

Until 1965, the franchise system was expanded by another seven Coca-Cola branches in Mödling, Klagenfurt, Landegg, St. Pölten, Dornbirn, Steyr and Gmunden. This structure remained unchanged until 1982.

In 1968, the assortment was extended to include Sprite. In 1971, Austrians tasted Coca-Cola, Fanta and Sprite for the first time out of a can.

At the end of the 1970s, 12 independent Coca-Cola franchises, mostly family-owned companies, provided for soft drinks within their respective franchise areas.

In 1979, mezzo mix was rolled out.

New Structures

In 1982, the Sydney-based company Amatil Ltd. purchased the plant on Wienerberg hill, which was then called Wienerberg Getränke Gesellschaft m.b.H., and the Graz-based Getina. Afterwards it modernized the fleet and the production plants. The sales structure was reorganized and the advertising image was improved, new promotions were introduced and special advertising techniques were developed. The course for an even more successful future was set.

In 1983, Coca-Cola light was launched on the Austrian market.

From 1987 onwards, the franchise system in Austria was reorganized. By means of rationalization and synergy effects, the strength of the entire Coca-Cola organization was improved and harmonized activities on the market were made possible. Following the franchises in Mödling, St. Pölten, Pottendorf, Steyr, Klagenfurt and Dornbirn, in 1991 the last franchise area, Salzburg, was also integrated. Vienna became the center of Coca-Cola's Austrian market. The Coca-Cola Company acquired a stake in Amatil Ltd. Henceforth, the company was called Coca-Cola Amatil.

In 1996, Coca-Cola Amatil took over the franchises in Linz and Innsbruck from Österreichische Brau AG and was from then on the only Coca-Cola license holder in Austria.

The foundation of Coca-Cola Hellenic

Coca-Cola HBC Austria head office Wienerberg  

In 1998, Coca-Cola Amatil underwent a restructuring process. From then on, Coca-Cola Amatil was in charge of the Australian and Asian markets, while the newly founded Coca-Cola Beverages took over the European activities.

In February 2000, Coca-Cola Beverages merged with the Greek bottling company Hellenic Bottling Company S.A., creating the second biggest bottling company worldwide: Coca-Cola Hellenic.

Today, Coca-Cola Hellenic operates in 28 countries and provides beverages to around 560 million consumers.

In 2003, consumers for the first time experienced the refreshing taste of Nestea Iced Tea.

In 2003, Coca-Cola Beverages Austria GmbH, a subsidiary of Coca-Cola Hellenic Bottling Company, took over Römerquelle GesmbH and its subsidiary Markusquelle. The sports drink Powerade, Sprite zero and Cappy fresh were launched the same year.

In March 2007, the company's name was changed to Coca-Cola HBC Austria GmbH. The same year, Coca-Cola zero was launched in Austria and the PET to PET recycling facility went on stream. At the end of 2008, Coca-Cola extended its product range by the energy drink „Burn“ .

In 2009, a new, pocket-sized energy drink was added to the burn product range: burn Energy Shot.

In the course of 2010, three new soft drinks were launched in Austria: Fanta Lemon and Cappy Ice Fruit available in two flavors, multivitamin with mangosteen and apple/pear with elderflower. Since November 2010, Coca-Cola Hellenic Austria has distributed Monster Energy, the world’s second-best-selling energy drink.

On May 8, 2011, the whole world celebrated Coca-Cola’s 125th birthday. NESTEA Mango & Pineapple was added to the Nestea product range. The formula of the popular sports drink Powerade was improved and the beverage was relaunched as Powerade ION4.

“Tradition meets future” was the motto of Coca-Cola Hellenic Austria in 2012. On May 8, 2012, the foundation stone of the new production and logistics center in Edelstal, Burgenland, was laid, and August 31, 2012, marked the end of an era: after 56 years, production on the Wienerberg hill in Vienna was closed and moved to Edelstal. This year, new product innovations have again captured the Austrian beverage market: NESTEA Green Tea with stevia, Powerade zero - the first sugar-free zero-calorie sports drink, and burn juiced energy with a fruity and fresh taste.

On May 2, 2013, Coca-Cola Hellenic Austria will celebrate the opening of the highly efficient, state-of-the-art production and logistics center in Edelstal.

In February 2016 Coca-Cola life was launched on the Austrian market.

Back to top

Related links

Geschichte

Man schrieb das Jahr 1886. Schauplatz war Atlanta, Georgia, im Süden der USA. Der Apotheker John Pemberton war eigentlich auf der Suche nach einem Elixier gegen Müdigkeit, Mattigkeit und Kopfschmerzen.

John Pemberton

Mit Wasser verdünnt wirkte dieses eigentlich als Heilmittel vorgesehene Getränk so anregend, dass daraus das beliebteste Erfrischungsgetränk der Welt wurde: Coca-Cola.

Von diesem Moment an war der Siegeszug von Coca-Cola nicht mehr aufzuhalten.

Coca-Cola in Österreich

1929 fand Coca-Cola den Weg nach Österreich. Heinrich Ganahl aus Bludenz schloss mit The Coca-Cola Company den ersten Abfüll- und Vertriebsvertrag ab. Noch im gleichen Jahr begann mit der Produktion von 24.000 Flaschen die spätere Erfolgsgeschichte von Coca-Cola in Österreich. Rund ein Jahrzehnt danach wurde die Coca-Cola GmbH Zweigniederlassung in Wien gegründet.

Der zweite Weltkrieg stoppte die weitere Entwicklung von Coca-Cola in Österreich, 1953 begann die Paul König OHG in Lambach wieder mit der Produktion. Coca-Cola Österreich hatte zum damaligen Zeitpunkt 21 Mitarbeiter, 4 Lastwägen und einen Wagen für den Tourenleiter. Im ersten Jahr wurden 2.681 Kisten zu je 24 Flaschen verkauft.

Zentrale in Wien

Coca-Cola Truck 1954

Coca-Cola Abfüllung 1955

1954 wurden in Wien, Salzburg, Innsbruck und Graz 4 Coca-Cola-Konzessionen gegründet. Am 1. Februar 1955 nahm am Wienerberg in Wien-Favoriten die „Gesellschaft für alkoholfreie Getränke“ ihren Betrieb auf. Wien wurde zum Stammsitz des heutigen Unternehmens; 1956 folgte die Errichtung einer eigenen Abfüllanlage.

1964 wurde Fanta Orange am österreichischen Markt eingeführt. Zwei Jahre danach folgte Cappy Orange.

Bis 1965 wurde das Konzessionärsystem um 7 weitere Coca-Cola-Konzessionen in Mödling, Klagenfurt, Landegg, St. Pölten, Dornbirn, Steyr und Gmunden erweitert und sollte bis 1982 unverändert bleiben.

Im Jahr 1968 wurde das Sortiment um Sprite erweitert. Mit Coca-Cola, Fanta und Sprite aus der Dose erfrischten sich Menschen in Österreich erstmals im Jahr 1971.

Ende der 70er Jahre versorgten 12 eigenständige Coca-Cola-Konzessionäre, meist Familienbetriebe, innerhalb ihrer jeweiligen Konzessionsgebiete Österreich mit Erfrischungen.

1979 wurde mezzo mix lanciert.

Neue Strukturen

1982 erwarb Amatil Ltd. mit Sitz in Sydney den Betrieb am Wienerberg, die damalige Wienerberg Getränke Gesellschaft m.b.H., und die Grazer Getina und modernisierte den Fuhrpark und die Produktionsanlagen. Die Verkaufsorganisation wurde neu strukturiert, das Werbebild verbessert, neue Promotions eingeführt und spezielle Werbetechniken entwickelt. Die Weichen für eine noch erfolgreichere Zukunft wurden gestellt.

1983 wurde Coca-Cola light am österreichischen Markt etabliert.

Ab 1987 wurde die Konzessionärsorganisation in Österreich umstrukturiert. Durch Rationalisierung und Synergieeffekte wurde die Schlagkraft der gesamten Coca-Cola-Organisation erhöht und ein einheitliches Vorgehen am Markt ermöglicht. Nach den Konzessionen in Mödling, St. Pölten, Pottendorf, Steyr, Klagenfurt und Dornbirn wurde 1991 mit Salzburg das letzte Konzessionsgebiet integriert. Wien wurde damit zum Zentrum des österreichischen Coca-Cola-Marktes. The Coca-Cola Company beteiligte sich an der Amatil Ltd., der Firmenname lautete fortan Coca-Cola Amatil.

1996 übernahm Coca-Cola Amatil die Konzessionen Linz und Innsbruck von der Österreichischen Brau AG und war ab diesem Zeitpunkt der einzige Coca-Cola-Konzessionär in Österreich.

Coca-Cola Hellenic gegründet

Coca-Cola HBC Zentrale Wienerberg

Im Jahr 1998 strukturierte sich Coca-Cola Amatil neu. Coca-Cola Amatil kümmert sich fortan um den australischen und asiatischen Markt, das Europageschäft übernahm die neu gegründete Coca-Cola Beverages.

Im Februar 2000 fusionierte Coca-Cola Beverages mit dem griechischen Abfüller Hellenic Bottling Company S.A.

So entstand der zweitgrößte Abfüller weltweit: Coca-Cola Hellenic. Mittlerweile operiert Coca-Cola Hellenic in 28 Ländern und versorgt rund 560 Millionen Konsumenten mit Getränken.

2003 konnten sich die Konsumenten erstmals mit Nestea Eistee erfrischen.

2003 übernahm die Coca-Cola Beverages Austria GmbH, Tochter der Coca-Cola Hellenic Bottling Company, die Römerquelle GmbH inklusive ihrer Tochterfirma Markusquelle. Im selben Jahr wurden das Sportgetränk Powerade, Sprite zero und Cappy fresh auf dem Markt eingeführt.

Im März 2007 erfolgte die Namensänderung auf Coca-Cola HBC Austria Ges.m.b.H. Im selben Jahr wurde Coca-Cola zero in Österreich lanciert und die PET to PET-Recycling-Anlage in Betrieb genommen. Ende 2008 erweiterte Coca-Cola sein Portfolio mit dem Energydrink „burn“ um ein weiteres Produkt.

Ende 2008 erweitert Coca-Cola sein Produktportfolio mit dem Energydrink burn um ein weiteres Getränk.

2009 wird das burn-Sortiment um den Energy Drink im „Handschuhfachformat“ erweitert: burn energy Shot.

Im Laufe des Jahres 2010 werden in Österreich 3 neue Erfrischungsgetränke lanciert: Fanta Lemon, sowie Cappy ICE FRUIT in den Geschmacksrichtungen Multivitamin mit Mangostane und Apfel-Birne mit Holunderblüten. Seit November 2010 vertreibt Coca-Cola Hellenic Österreich den Energy Drink Monster, den weltweit zweitstärksten Energy Drink.

Am 8. Mai 2011 feiert die ganze Welt den 125. Geburtstag von Coca-Cola. Die Nestea-Linie wird um die Sorte Mango & Pineapple erweitert. Die Formel des beliebten Sportgetränks Powerade wird verbessert und daher auf Powerade ION4 umbenannt.

„Tradition trifft Zukunft“ lautet die Devise von Coca-Cola Hellenic im Jahr 2012. Am 8. Mai 2012 wird der Grundstein für die neue Produktions- und Logistikzentrale in Edelstal gelegt und am 31. August 2012 wird nach 56 Jahren die Produktion am Wienerberg geschlossen und nach Edelstal übersiedelt. Auch in diesem Jahr erobern Produktinnovationen den österreichischen Getränkemarkt: NESTEA green tea mit Stevia, Powerade zero – der erste zucker- und kalorienfreie Sportdrink und burn juiced energy – mit fruchtig frischem Geschmack.

Am 2. Mai 2013 feiert Coca-Cola Hellenic Österreich die Eröffnung des modernen und effizienten Produktions- und Logistikzentrums in Edelstal.

Im Februar 2016 wird Coca-Cola life am österreichischen Markt eingeführt.

Back to top

Related links